Meet The Team

Our Staff, Officers, and Board

What Is the Role of the Board of Directors?

The Board of Directors is a working, grassroots, group that understands the needs of the communities it serves and seeks to fulfill the organization’s mission of providing training and education to New York’s planning and zoning board members. The Board is comprised of eighteen Regional Representatives, who represent the State’s nine regions, and six Directors-at-Large. According to the by-laws, Regional Representatives must be members of a local planning board or ZBA, while the Directors-at-Large may be land use attorneys, engineers, educators, or others involved in some aspect of local government. Members of the Executive Committee include the current President, 1st and 2nd Vice Presidents, and the Immediate Past President.

Contact our office at 518-512-5270

NYPF Staff

Jacob Torres

Planning Intern

Barbara Samel, Esq.

Executive Director

Leila Jabour, AICP

Bookkeeper/ Administrative Assistant

Kristine Barth

Executive Assistant

Anne Cherrier

Administrative Assistant

Executive Committee

Nina Peek, AICP

Past President

Alison LaPointe Esq


Ed Jackson

1st Vice President

Ken Swanekamp


Mark Schachner, Esq

2nd Vice President

Directors at Large

Katherine Ember, AICP

David Plante, AICP, CEP

Patricia Tatich, AICP

Doug Finch

Donald Young, Esq.

Regional Directors

Dan Sullivan

Region 7: Central NY

John Marriott

Region 9: Western

Andrea Smith AICP

Region 5: Adirondack/NCountry

Charles A Voss,AICP

Region 4: CapRegion/UpHudson

Elaine McClung

Region 3: Low/Mid Hudson

Jon Kanter, AICP

Region 3: Low/Mid Hudson

Nzingha Milanes

Region 1& 2 LI & NY Metro

Tim Stalker

Region 6: Southern Tier